When people say I shouldn’t call myself autistic

This has always been, as I am sure you know, a topic of hot debate in the autism world or the world of anything like this really.  Should we be called people with autism, or autistic, or some blend of the two.  Personally (and I understand that this is ONLY my opinion, nobody else’s, that I want to be called autistic.  When you say person with autism you say that autism is not a part of the person it is something they added.  This basically implies that autism ISN’T a part of a person which frustrates me because I feel like something like autism, as much as it is frustrating as much as there are days I hate it more than anyone will ever know, it IS a part of who I am.  Autism is as much a part of me as my skin color or my sexuality or anything really.  So, when people say that oh this is something to be ashamed of or to say that its something that I need to dislike I feel is wrong.  If you have a say ten year old kid.  Who knows they have autism.  And googles it.  And all they find is articles talking about how we need a cure or articles calling who we are people with diseases.  It is terrifying.  It is heartbreaking.  I should know.  Believe me, I should know because I WAS that kid.  I was the kid who felt that I was messed up and that I should not be who I am.  It took me YEARS to learn that I was not what they called me.  I am not broken.  I do not need to be fixed.  It is like a knife in my heart every. single. time. that somebody calls me that in a derogatory sense because I have heard it.  Ive been called autistic in a derogatory sense.  It hurts so very badly because people are using something that I think is fine to harm me.  And THAT is frustrating beyond belief.  But it does not make me not want to be called autistic.  It does not mean that I am ashamed of who I am.  Because, I’m not and I’m not going to be.

Leave a Reply

